settembre 15, 2021 - BMW

Shortlist exhibition of the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2021. BMW as long-term partner since 2006

Comunicato Stampa disponibile solo in lingua originale. 

Munich/Berlin. From September 16, 2021 to February 27, 2022 works of the nominees of the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2021 Lamin Fofana, Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff, Sandra Mujinga, and Sung Tieu will be on display for a joint exhibition at the Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin. The BMW Group Cultural Engagement which celebrates its 50th anniversary this year, already supports the Preis der Nationalgalerie for 15 years now.

Deploying installation, photography, sculpture, sound, and other media, the shortlist exhibition address topics such as displacement and migration, belonging and alienation, shifting logics of public and private space, and the potential of sound and music to act as social forces. On display of the exhibition are both, already existing works as well as new productions of the artists.

On the evening of October 7, 2021, an international jury will announce the winner of the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2021. The museum prize will be awarded already for the eleventh time by the Nationalgalerie Berlin. It consists of a solo exhibition at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin in the course of 2022 and an accompanying publication.

The jury consists of:
Emre Baykal, Chief Curator, Arter, Istanbul
Sven Beckstette, Curator, Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
Gabriele Knapstein, Head of Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
Emma Lavigne, President, Palais de Tokyo, Paris
Yesomi Umolu, Director of Curatorial Affairs and Public Practice, Serpentine, London  

The Preis der Nationalgalerie is made possible by the Freunde der Nationalgalerie since the year 2000 and supported by BMW as exclusive partner for 15 years now. The award focuses on young important positions of today. Eligible are artists of all nationalities who at the time of their nomination live and work in Germany and are under the age of 40. Previous awardees amongst others were Monica Bonvicini (2005), Cyprien Gaillard (2011), Anne Imhof (2015), Agnieszka Polska (2017), and Pauline Curnier Jardin (2019).

For further information and image material, please visit or