marzo 14, 2019 - Hyundai

2019 IMSA MICHELIN Pilot Challenge Hyundai Update

Comunicato Stampa disponibile solo in lingua originale. 

Top Five Debut:  #imsa Michelin Pilot Challenge’s youngest rookie pairing, Mason Filippi and Harry Gottsacker, earned a top-five finish in their series debut at Daytona in the #21 #velostern TCR.  They are ranked fifth in the #imsa MICHELIN Pilot Challenge championship with 26 points.

Miles Logged: The entire Bryan Herta Autosport team completed a successful test at Buttonwillow in California in February.  It was the first test for the team since they received their #velostern TCR’s just before the season opener at Daytona.  In addition, BHA drivers Mason Filippi and Michael Lewis spent a day with media at the #hyundai proving grounds in the Mojave Desert driving the #velostern TCR.

Tech for a Day: Josh Hensley, the shop foreman/lead technician at #hyundai New Port Richey will be the “Hyundai Team Tech” this weekend at Sebring.  The service team at #hyundai Motor America’s headquarters uses the “Tech for a Day” program as part of their motorsports program activation.  Josh is a 12-year veteran with #hyundai New Port Richey and was nominated by his service manager. “It’s every mechanic’s dream to work on a race team,” Hensley said. “I think it will be faster paced than I am used to, but at the same time, as long as the car stays out of trouble, we should be good. I know from first-hand experience how reliable these Veloster’s are and I can’t wait for this experience.”

Veloster N TCR Race Winner: Mason Filippi scored two victories in the #hyundai #velostern TCR sweeping the Pirelli World Challenge races at The Circuit of The Americas with TFB Performance.  Along with the victory, Filippi was awarded $15k from Hyundai’s customer #racing prize money contingency program.

Promoting the Brand: Harry Gottsacker and Mason Filippi joined #hyundai at the Chicago Auto Show last month to promote the Veloster.  The BHA drivers signed autographs and introduced fans to the new #velostern showing them the ins and outs of their #velostern TCR race car.

Sebring Rookies Surrounded by Sebring Champions: Michael Lewis, Harry Gottsacker and Mason Filippi are new to Sebring, but they are surrounded by experienced Sebring race winners. Teammate Mark Wilkins won the 12 Hours of Sebring in 2016, Team owner Bryan Herta won the race in 2007 and team technical director John Ward, has engineered two cars to victory at the 12 Hours of Sebring.