Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy website David Coulthard makes the breakthrough
marzo 16, 2017 - Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport

David Coulthard makes the breakthrough

1997: prelude to seven world championship titles

On 9 March 1997, the Scottish #racing driver #davidcoulthard drove to victory at the Australian Grand Prix in a McLaren-Mercedes. It marked the first win for the Silver Arrows since the Stuttgart brand made its #f1 comeback. For at the end of 1955, following two world championship titles for Juan Manuel Fangio, Mercedes-Benz had pulled out of Formula 1 #racing while at the height of its success. 40 years later, it teamed up with McLaren for the 1995 season, and in 2010 Mercedes-Benz finally set up its own Formula 1 team, MERCEDES-AMG PETRONAS. Since the triumph in Australia 20 years ago, the Stuttgart brand has racked up countless victories and its drivers have won the Formula 1 world championship on a total of seven occasions: 1998 and 1999 (Mika Häkkinen), 2008 (Lewis Hamilton), 2009 (Jenson Button), 2014 and 2015 (Lewis Hamilton), as well as 2016 (Nico Rosberg). 

News correlate

giugno 01, 2023
giugno 01, 2023
giugno 01, 2023

Comunicato Stampa disponibile solo in lingua originale. While the #F1 drivers were competing in #monaco, the Mercedes-AMG GT2 was ...

Marina di Carrara, 31 maggio 2023 – The Italian Sea Group, operatore globale della #nautica di lusso, presente con 2 iconici motor...

Comunicato Stampa disponibile solo in lingua originale. Following a rain-affected race in Monaco, it's straight on to Barcelona an...