august 25, 2014 - Volkswagen

WRC-The next World Champion will also drive a Volkswagen

Crunch time in the World Rally Championship – the result of the Rally Germany means that the 2014 World Rally Champion will again be behind the wheel of a Volkswagen. Only Sébastien Ogier (F), Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) and Andreas Mikkelsen (N) still have a mathematical chance of winning the Drivers’ title with four rallies remaining. However, the works team from Wolfsburg had a disappointing home rally. While Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Fløene (N/N) did record Volkswagen’s first podium at the manufacturer’s home round of the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), the team was denied a maiden victory in Germany on a dramatic final day. Leading at the start of Sunday, a mistake about 70 kilometres from the end of the rally cost Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN) any hopes of a second win in a row. As such, the Rally Germany remains the only event on the WRC calendar that Volkswagen is yet to win. The result also brings to an end Volkswagen’s record-breaking run of twelve back-to-back rally wins. Despite this, the team was still able to celebrate with Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Fløene, who finished third in extremely difficult conditions...

(Read more in press release)