Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy website Hyundai Begins IMSA Title Defense at Daytona
january 25, 2023 - Hyundai

Hyundai Begins IMSA Title Defense at Daytona

  • Hyundai to Compete in BMW M #endurance Challenge at DAYTONA, Jan. 25 - 27
  • Hyundai and Bryan Herta Autosport are Defending #imsamichelinpilotchallenge (IMPC) Champions
  • Robert Wickens and #taylorhagler Among Drivers Returning to Hyundai Stable for 2023 Season
  • Live Race Coverage Available on Peacock

Hyundai is poised to defend its #imsamichelinpilotchallenge (IMPC) championship title beginning this weekend at Daytona International Speedway for the Rolex 24 at DAYTONA. This season’s action kicks off with a four-hour #endurance race on Jan. 27, 2023—one of two #endurance events on the 2023 IMPC calendar. The 2023 Hyundai stable includes five Elantra N TCR entries between Bryan Herta Autosport (BHA) and Deily Motorsports.

  • Daytona International Speedway: 3.56-mile, 12-turn oval road course

The Lineup

  • Championship duo #taylorhagler and Michael Lewis will return to pilot the No. 1 Elantra N TCR with BHA
  • Robert Wickens and Harry Gottsacker will drive the BHA No. 33 Elantra N TCR
  • The No. 98 Elantra N TCR for BHA will see Mason Filippi and Mark Wilkins as co-drivers
  • Deily Motorsports’ Jacob Deily and Tyler Maxson will drive the No. 70 Elantra N TCR
  • IMPC newcomers Cabot Bigham and Matt Jaskol will co-drive the Deily Motorsports No. 74 Elantra N TCR

New Pairings, Same Goal
Familiar faces return to represent the Hyundai banner including reigning IMPC champions #taylorhagler and Michael Lewis. Remaining in the BHA family, Gottsacker will move to the No. 33 Elantra N TCR entry with teammate Wickens. A first-time pairing of Wilkins and Filippi will co-drive the No. 98 Elantra N TCR. Deily Motorsports is pairing Maxson alongside Jacob Deily, and adding Cabot Bigham and Matt Jaskol as an all-rookie pairing. As all five entries will pilot the #hyundaielantrantcr, the mission is to collect a fourth-consecutive manufacturers’ championship.

Year of Champions
Among this year’s Hyundai IMPC lineup, four drivers are former Hyundai champions: Hagler, Lewis, Wilkins and Maxson. Lewis has won the IMPC TCR title three years in a row, the most recent pair with Hagler as his teammate. They enter their third year of competition as co-drivers and look to continue making championship history. Maxson earned his own chapter in the Hyundai record books when the Georgia-born driver earned title honors in the SRO TCR Championship in 2020. Wilkins won the IMPC championship in 2019 with BHA and returns with the team for a sixth season.

Wickens Returns to Competition with Hyundai Hand Controls
Following a successful first season of IMPC competition, highlighted by two victories, Wickens will return to co-pilot the No. 33 Elantra N TCR with BHA teammate, Gottsacker. With assistance from hand controls developed by BHA, Wickens is able to drive the Elantra N TCR with special levers on the steering wheel while Gottsacker reutrns to standard driving controls following driver changes. As a refreshed teammate pairing, Wickens and Gottsacker are ready for a new season and focused to start the year off right with this weekend’s four-hour race.   

You might be interested in

july 21, 2022
july 08, 2022
july 01, 2022

July 20 2022No. 54 Hyundai Elantra N TCR Achieves First Podium of 2022No. 1 Hyundai Elantra N TCR Extends Championship LeadFOUNTAI...

No. 33 Hyundai Elantra N TCR Wins Back-to-Back RacesHyundai Locks-Out Podium with 1-2-3 FinishNo. 1 Hyundai Elantra N TCR Retakes ...

Hyundai Competes in the #canadiantiremotorsportpark 120, July 1-2Hyundai Looking for First Win at Ontario CircuitCoverage on Peaco...